Pharmacology 2021-08-28T04:53:51+00:00

Department of Pharmacology


To become an internationally recognised centre of excellence for pharmacological research and training.


Producing competent professionals and scientists able to apply their knowledge of drug discovery and development.

About us

The Department of Pharmacology is one of the major departments in Pharmaceutical Sciences. It was established in the year 2010. The Department currently consists of 4 faculty members. All of them are nationally and internationally recognised for their research works. Their research articles have been published in peer-reviewed journals. Departmental laboratories are well-equipped for the pursuit of research, and our faculty members use a wide variety of experimental methodologies in pre-clinical and molecular pharmacology.

Current area of Research Interest

  • Screening of Herbal/Synthetic drugs for various Pharmacological activities.

  • Neuro Pharmacology.

  • Cardiovascular studies.

  • Bioassays on isolated tissue & organ.

  • Toxicological studies.


  • Semiauto analyser

  • Rotaryflash Evaporator

  • Rotarod apparatus

  • Elevated plus mazes (Rat and Mouse)

  • Electroconvulsio meter

  • Digital analgesiometer(Tail flick model)

  • Histamine chamber

  • Light/Dark apparatus

  • Pole climbing apparatus

  • Open field apparatus

Animal House Facilities

The department has CPCSEA approved Animal House (Registration no: 1076/PO/Re/S/07/CPCSEA) for conducting experiments and research work on small laboratory animals like mice, rats, guinea pigs, and rabbits. The Animal House is maintained as per the CPCSEA guidelines.

Faculty Members

Sl.No Name Designation
1 Dr. H Shivakumar Prof. and HOD
2 Dr.Virupanagouda P Patil Associate Professor
3 Dr. Nanjappaiah H M Associate Professor
4 Mr. Sridharkumar S. Biradar Assistant Professor
5 Mr. Santosh R Awasti Assistant Professor
6 Mr. Ashwinkumar Lecture