Pharmaceutical Chemistry


To produce competent and skilled pharmacy professionals to cater to the needs of society and pharmaceutical industries.


The Department aims at graduating pharmacists with appropriate knowledge and skills to work in the Quality control, Quality assurance and R & D areas of pharmaceutical industries.

About us

Established in 2007, this department offers Bachelor and Master of Pharmacy courses in a state-of-the-art academic environment. Current research interests include drug designing, molecular modelling, synthesis and biological activities. In medical chemistry research, the focus is on synthesis, purification, characterization and evaluation of biological activities both by in-vitro and in-vivo models. To strengthen our academic and research potential, the department has introduced Computer-Aided Drug Design, Docking, QSAR and Molecular Modelling based projects in Master of Pharmacy and pharmaceutical chemistry to promote identification and validation of novel target sites for designing and synthesizing new chemical entities.


To impart knowledge to students on different medicinally active principles, their formation, isolation and identification

To equip students with the skills required for the synthesis of drug molecules in laboratory and to ensure a higher level of competence in the synthesis of newer molecules.

To train students to achieve a high degree of proficiency and develop competence in structural modification aimed at improved activity

To train students in the usage of common and more advanced instruments such as balances, pH meter, melting point apparatus, refractometer, colorimeter, polarimeter, HPLC, GC, HPTLC, IR, FTIR, NMR and Mass spectrophotometer

Faculty Members

Sl. No Name of faculty Designation Photo
1 Dr B Shivkumar M.Pharm, Ph.D Professor and Head Dr-B-Shivkumar
2 Dr R B Kotnal M.Pharm, Ph.D Professor, Director and CAO dr-rb-kotnal
3 Dr.Somshekhar M Metri M.Pharm, Ph.D Associate Professor ravindra-v-revadigar
4 Shri. Ravindra V  Revadigar M.Pharm Assistant Professor ravindra-v-revadigar
5 Shri. Sangappa Teli M.S (PHARM) Assistant Professor sangappa-teli
6 Kum. Hasti Kenia M.Pharm Assistant Professor Hasti-Kenia
7 Shri. Dharyappa K Teli M.Pharm Assistant Professor dharyappa-teli
8 Shri. Shivanand Kolageri M.Pharm Assistant Professor shivanand-kolageri
9 Shri. Sandeep Umarani M.Pharm Assistant Professor sandeep-umarani
10 Kum. Maharani Bhandarakavathe M.Pharm Assistant Professor maharani-bhandarkavathe

Apply Online - Free

Download Brochure

Request a call back


Affiliated to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bengaluru

Recognized and approved by Pharmacy Council of India, New Delhi, and AICTE

Accredited by NAAC A++ grade. The 1st Pharmacy College in the country to have earned this recognition.